Soochow University

Soochow University is a university in Suzhou, Jiangsu, China. The school is part of the Chinese Ministry of Education's Project 211, and a Jiangsu provincial key comprehensive university/.

The original Soochow University was founded by Methodists in Suzhou in 1900 as a merger of three existing institutions: the Po-hsi Academy, the Kung-hsiang Academy, and the Chung-hsi Academy. The university was split in 1949 as a result of the Chinese Civil War, and merged with the Southern Jiangsu College of Culture and Education and the Department of Mathematics and Physics at Jiangnan University to form the Jiangsu Teacher's College in 1952. The English name Soochow University was revived in 1982; however, the original Chinese name Dongwu was not adopted, and the institution was given the name Suzhou. The Suzhou College of Sericulture, Suzhou Institute of Silk Textile Technology and Suzhou Medical College were each merged into the University in 1995, 1997 and 2000 successively.

Members of the Soochow Alumni Association who fled to Taiwan after 1949 established the Soochow University in Taipei, starting with its College of Law in 1951 and becoming a full-fledged university with five schools in 1971.

Clinical Medicine is a Brand Specialty in Soochow Medical University and ranks the 18th in China. The School of Medicine consists of the Department of Pre-clinical Medicine, the Department of Pharmacology, the No.1 Department of Clinical Medicine (the Department of Medical Imaging and the Department of Nursing), the No.2 Department of Clinical Medicine, the No.3 Department of Clinical Medicine, the No.4 Department of Clinical Medicine and the Department of Pediatrics. Presently at School of Medicine more than 500 international students are undergoing MBBS program out of which 450 students are from India. The management and faculties are regularly visiting India and other countries to understand education pattern and requirements of Medical Council of India, in order to prepare students to match with international standards.

There are 3 national key disciplines-- internal medicine (homeopathy), radiology and ontological surgery; 4 provincial-ministry level key disciplines and 2 provincial first-level key disciplines. MCSU has 20 Scientific Research Institutions, 10 Key Labs at city level and 6 innovation teams in MCSU. The college has started to recruit international students in MBBS program taught in English since 2004 and it was approved by the MOE in 2008.

Soochow University is listed in the WHO World Directory of Medical Schools and the graduates of MBBS program are eligible to take the Medical Licensing Examinations held by the medical councils in different countries such as MCI, PMDC, USMLE, HPCSA and SCHS etc.


Chinese, Medical Chinese, Survey of China, Advanced Mathematics, Physiology, Biochemistry, Regional Anatomy, Pathology, Medical Microbiology, Medical Immunology, Medical Parasitological, Path physiology, Basic and Clinical pharmacology, Diagnostics, General Surgery, Radiology, Traditional Chinese Medicine, Oncology, Internal Medicine, Surgery, Obstetrics and Gynecology, Infectious Diseases, Ophthalmology, etc.


The university consists of 6 campuses covering an area of 135 hectares and with 940,000 square meters of building area. The main and most beautiful campus is located at No.1 Shizi Street. The total enrollment is more than 39,000 students, including more than 28,000 graduates/undergraduates and more than 11,000 adult students of formal education.

The campus grounds have been described as among China's most beautiful, in part based on the incorporation of "typical features of the classical gardens in Suzhou".

International collaboration

The university has established several joint programs with foreign universities

  • Soochow University and Athabasca University in Canada offer a joint degree program for Chinese undergraduate students, who study in Suzhou and are awarded a Bachelor of Management degree (from Athabasca) and a Bachelor of Administration degree (from Soochow) upon completing four years of coursework. All courses are delivered in English.
  • Daejin University, a South Korean private university, operates one of its two China campuses on the Soochow University grounds, with the other campus located at Harbin Normal University. Daejin maintains its own building with accommodation and classrooms.
  • Cornell Law School (United States) and Bucerius Law School (Germany) operate a Summer Law Institute in partnership with Soochow's Kenneth Wang School of Law.
Fee Structures
  • Tuition Fee (MBBS) – 32500 RMB/Year
  • Duration – 5 + 1 Year Internship
  • Hostel Fee – 4000 RMB/Year